5:51PM
I’ve walked about 115 miles to date, and tomorrow will cross the Clyde at Gourock by ferry to continue on northwards – and slightly east, to join the West Highland Way at Loch Lomond.

As it’s Sunday I’m resting and recovering, and indeed have slept for much of today, having covered more miles yesterday than on any previous day – and got a thorough soaking into the bargain!

My camp overnight at Kelburn was initially successful, but waking to heavy and prolonged rain made breaking camp difficult.

At the start of the day’s walking my feet felt better than at any time for a long time, but this was not to last. The blisters were very painful by day’s end. A long day in the rain.

The boat over to Kilcreggan doesn’t run today, so it coincides well with my planned rest-day.

I’m very heartened by all the messages of support and the many and great gifts received thus far, including one from a plainly very generous individual who gave £250.

Please keep up the good work, folks, in sharing the news of what I’m doing and why.

With grateful thanks.

7:55PM
Map of the next section of my trek: starting with the boat over to Kilcreggan in the south and on towards Tarbet on the west shore of Loch Lomond.

IMG-20140804-WA0006

Work and a significant birthday mean I shall have to return south to England for about a week from August 9th, to return to carry on to the Cape from about the 16th.

