9:06AM
Yesterday’s walk was probably the hardest yet though the conditions were ideal.

I walked from Inverkip to Gourock around the coast, then crossed over to Kilcreggan on the passenger ferry and thence onwards to Garelochhead.

This was notably more than 15 miles (not including the ferry crossing), and by the end of the day I was very tired. However, a very warm welcome at the Rowenbrae B+B, and a very long sleep have helped enormously.

My route today takes me along ‘The Three Lochs Way’ towards Arrochar and Tarbet, and I’m having to think about going home by train for my significant birthday, and to do some work for next week.

I was heartened by a recent encounter with a woman whose husband has had MS for a very long time, and her encouragement for me in my efforts on this Walk.

So very brave and loving was her approach to life. God bless her.

I was also greatly heartened by the generosity of the folk I meet on the road. Frequently, I have to refuse lifts from people who see me walking along.

And asking directions yesterday led to the young man in question giving £6, and then from a couple that overheard the exchange another £5 from them.

I do so hope to be able to reach the £2500 target set for this venture.

IMG-20140805-WA0001

IMG-20140805-WA0002

11:24AM
This is the first of the mountain country on my journey, the hills above Garelochhead en route to Arrochar.

