12:40PM
Crossing Loch Lomond by the ferry to Inversnaid avoids a long and dangerous walk alongside the Loch on the main road to Crianlarich.

It enables me to pick up the West Highland Way which is the next section of my journey.

IMG-20140816-WA0004

1:03PM
The weather is pleasingly most unsuitable for the midge, being jolly wet today.

I’ve dressed my feet and bound them and I hope to be free of the blistering that was so painful on the first third of the trek. So far so good!

7:27PM
The camp shelter at Beinglas Farm near Inverarnan.

IMG-20140818-WA0001

I really liked this place. A well thought through operation for the backpacker camping fraternity, and the Lamb Madras curry was really gorgeous.

The day began and ended (and carried on through the middle as well) with heavy rain.

The initial section from Arrochar to Tarbet was a nice stretch despite the weather and I caught the ferry to Inversnaid without any difficulty.

From Inversnaid up to Inverarnan was very bad in the conditions. The so-called “path” involved a very large amount of scrambling up and down broken boulders and rocks which with a jolly heavy pack in the wet proved both perilous and very slow.

Even the fit young walkers from the Continent struggled. And so I was particularly bedraggled when I finally arrived at my campsite destination at Beinglas, battling a pull right thigh muscle and a twisted left knee.

A kind young Danish lass offered to help me put up my tent (it was still raining and pretty blowy) and I later joined her and her boyfriend in the bar for food and a very refreshing drink.

It transpired that Anya’s own family has had its struggles with MS and we had a good talk.

