4:25PM
I’ve just come to Fort William. Safe and well, but very soggy.

Reaching Fort William completes –
• The West Highland Way; and
• (psychologically) the first half of my trek.

I therefore need to plan my route carefully.

On one level it feels like an achievement, on another it seems nothing at all in light of the miles to come.

I saw a pine marten today. They’re very rare. It was very close to me. They’re predators, but it probably thought I was a bit too big, and left me well alone.

There were many many streams on the mountain today and only some of them were not the path. It was incredibly wet today but I survived.

An ‘interesting’ day, to say the least.

9:33PM

IMG-20140822-WA0000

Now at a four person lodge (a large shed, really) by myself at the Macdonald Hotel until Saturday morning.

