7:42AM
In order to do some work, take a break at the psychological mid point of the Walk, buy some necessary supplies and so on, I’ve been in and around Fort William for a couple of days.

Great Glen Way

Great Glen Way

Today I start The Great Glen Way up to Drumnadrochit (not in one day!) ahead of swinging away north west and on up to the Cape.

I have a cold, no doubt from the exceptionally poor weather we’ve had just lately, but today the Sun is shining and perhaps even the midge will stay indoors…

Only another approx. 200 miles to go!

12:44PM
Ben Nevis from the Great Glen Way.

The Ben

The Ben

1:32PM
Joining the Caledonian Canal near Corpach.

Caledonian Canal

Caledonian Canal

8:08PM
As the day began with me having a cold it was difficult getting going this morning.

However I’ve walked the first stage of the Great Glen Way up to Gairlochy and am now camping for the night.

It’s a stunning spot and one can see the top of Ben Nevis in the exceptionally clear sky and the snow in the north facing corries on the mountain.

The midge have feasted well, me – well, er less so though fellow backpackers I’ve met have shared birthday cake and tea with me, so life is not all bad.

I’m stiff but well and think that the cold was sweated out of me during the walk.

