I had a good route from Garve to Aultguish Inn and enjoyed the windswept loneliness of the heights.

Heeding my brother’s warning about the adders here in the region of Ben Wyvis I climbed atop a large rock to eat.

Ben Wyvis

Ben Wyvis

My right foot is better but not good and I made better time than I had expected.

Two of the straps on the rucksack are now broken and Linda at Birch Cottage B+B, in Garve, sewed one of them for me.

Lovely food there by the way, as Ray is an experienced chef.

Aultguish Inn is nothing like my expectations – high up in the hills and nestling immediately below a vast dam that draws on Stalinist Russia for its architectural inspiration.

Aultguish Inn

Aultguish Inn

A lovely place though.

If when I check in a moment it’s got big cracks in the dirty dark grey concrete I shall feel as though I have had a lucky escape.

A croft in the hills

A croft in the hills

