I’ve re-applied the padded dressings and plasters to the base of my feet hopefully for the last time.

Discussing feet with my fellow long – distance walkers at the Inchnadamph hostel revealed that I was not alone in the nature of my sufferings, one seasoned veteran of long experience describing his feet on this trip as being “like hamburger” which somehow made me feel better.

Some sore patches aside my feet are currently fine, much of the surface having turned into something resembling rhino hide.

I received great help from Alistair, the Canadian mentioned previously, in repairing my broken rucksack. It was a two-man job. Carrying it has been so much better since, though it remains very heavy.

IMG-20140911-WA0005

The walk through Sutherland is simply stunning and whilst the heights and inclines are tough going, much tougher than Glen Coe, the exhilaration of the cresting of another rise is compensation for the struggle getting there.

IMG-20140911-WA0001

This empty quarter of Scotland simply has to be the most beautiful part of the UK, and on a smaller scale it resembles the South Island of New Zealand and Norway.

IMG-20140911-WA0002

I firmly recommend a visit, albeit that it is so very far away — especially so if one walks here!

I wild camped near Kylesku, hence the trouble with the stag, and then yesterday walked on to Badcall Bay near Scourie.

IMG-20140911-WA0003

Upper Badcall, near Scourie

The heat and a lack of water and at best energy bars for lunch made for a difficult day but in the sunshine the scenery was stunning. I was pretty exhausted by the day’s end but found accommodation at a caravan in a location too beautiful to be described in mere words.

So this week I have stayed in a B+B, a bothy, a Field Study hostel; I’ve wild camped and I’m now in a caravan.

Of course Kylesku made the News earlier this year when its Post Office closed.

Obviously I’m working alongside the MS Society in this venture and I’ve spent some time in discussions with them and in preparing a Press Release.

MS remains an incurable condition causing serious suffering to many and their families and I do not ever forget why I am doing this.

I have good days and bad days.

